You don't have javascript enabled. Please Enabled javascript for better performance.

The Smart India Hackathon 2017 Grand Finale Results Announced

13 Apr 2017

The Smart India Hackathon 2017 promoted innovation, out-of-the-box thinking in young minds, especially engineering students. It was focused on the problems of social importance as identified by 29 Ministries/Departments of Government of India.

The problem statements identified by the Ministries/Departments were placed on the MyGov website, inviting students (in groups of 6 students with at least one female student and two mentors) to come forward to send ideas and outlines of a possible solution. Leadership talks were broadcast through Facebook Live session. Orientation and awareness programs were conducted by AICTE and i4C in 26 different cities to motivate students to participate in this event. As many as 7531 entries were received from 2100 colleges.

The Grand Finale was held on April 1 & 2, 2017 in 26 different nodal centers across India, each location being hand held by one Department/Ministry of Govt. of India (please find the list of nodal centers below). During the Finale, the selected groups worked for 36 hours continuously from 8 am on April 1, 2017 till 8 pm on April 2, 2017 and complete digital solutions for the problem statements through programming to create computer software or a mobile app. Hon PM spoke to the participants at 10 p.m. on 1st April 2017 through video conference.

The software so created was evaluated by judges drawn from the respective ministry and industry experts and the best solutions were awarded @ Rs. 1 lakh, Rs. 75,000 and Rs. 50,000 for the top three teams respectively. Two more prizes were also given away by Persistent Systems and Deloitte India.

Snapshot of the Grand Finale

Ministry/Department No of Problem statements Ideas received Teams at Finale  

Nodal City


Nodal Center

Airport Authority of India, Ministry of Civil Aviation 43 356  


Allahabad, UP Civil Aviation Training Institute
AICTE 15 635  



Noida, UP JSS Academy of Technical Education
NCPCR 19 161 39 Bhopal, MP Sagar Institute of Research & Technology
Ministry of Tourism 21 279 48 Cochin, Kerala Mar Baselios Institute of Technology and Science
Ministry of Railways 31 464 60 Udaipur, Rajasthan Techno India NJR Institute of Technology
Ministry of Steel 31 273 56 Indore, MP Oriental University
ISRO 53 263 49 Ahmedabad, Gujarat Gujarat University Convention Center
Ministry of Earth Sciences 30 233 55 Chennai, Tamil Nadu Sri Sivasubramaniya Nadar College of Engineering
Ministry of Environment, Forests & Climate Change 28 316 50 Coimbatore Sri Krishna College of Engineering and Technology
Dept of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities 7 148 39 Hyderabad CVR College of Engineering
Ministry of AYUSH 15 125 38 Hubli, Karnataka BVB College of Engineering & Technology
Dept of Atomic Energy 16 183 32 Mumbai, Maharashtra Prin Welingkar Institute of Management Development & Research
Dept. of Defense Production 29 351 65 Bangalore, Karnataka Sri Venkateshwara College of Engineering
Ministry of HRD 22 215 41 Ghaziabad, UP Raj Kumar Goel Institute of Technology & Mgmt
Ministry of Development of Northeast Region (DONER) 11 102 29 Guwahati, Assam Girijananda Chowdhury Institute of  Management & Technology
Indian Council Medical Research 28 238 35 Kolkata Gurunanak Institute of Technology
Ministry of Road Transport 24 637 80 Nagpur, Maharashtra Shri Ramdeobaba College of Engineering and Management
Dept. of Rural Development 25 323 45 Thiruvananthapuram Rajadhani Institute of Engineering & Technology
Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship 28 136 35 Chandigarh Chandigarh Group of Colleges
UGC 20 216 42 Manipal, Karnataka Manipal Institute of Technology (Manipal University)
Students’ Voice NA 345 45 Guntur, Andhra Pradesh Koneru Lakshmaiah Education Foundation (KL University)
Dept of Science and Technology 9 232 24 Bhubaneshwar C.V. Raman College of Engineering
Dept of Biotechnology 17 120 30 Bhubaneshwar C.V. Raman College of Engineering
Dept of Postal Services 11 110 27 Jaipur, Rajasthan Jaipur Engineering College & Research Centre (JECRC)
DIPP 8 50 18 Jaipur, Rajasthan Jaipur Engineering College & Research Centre (JECRC)
Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals 3 43 13 New Delhi New Delhi Institute of Management (NDIM)
MEITY 21 463 51 Pune, Maharashtra College of Engineering Pune
Ministry of Food Processing 15 171 36 Amritsar Amritsar College of Engineering
Ministry of External Affairs 18 90 15 New Delhi New Delhi Institute of Management (NDIM)


Click here to view the list of Winners.

Total Comments - 0

Leave a Reply