Global Cyber Challenge Result Announcement

06 Dec 2017

With an aim to identify talent pools in the area of cyber security across the globe and to find solutions to critical problems, the Global Cyber Challenge was organised as part of the Global Conference on Cyber Space. It was conducted with the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY), National Critical Information Infrastructure Protection Center (NCIIPC), MyGov, Cyber Peace Foundation (CPF) and Policy Perspectives Foundation (PPF) as collaborators.

The GCC, which comprised of two flagship events called the Cyber Peace-a-Thon and Capture the Flag saw tremendous participation from across the globe. The Grand Finale of the challenge was a 2-day contest organised on the 20th and 21st November 2017 in New Delhi amongst the qualifying teams of the preliminary rounds. While 14 national and international teams participated in the Cyber Peace-a-thon finale, there were 13 finalists in the Capture the Flag-IT and OT categories combined. Out of the outstanding entries and competition, the following have been chosen to be the best.




Winners: CyGuard

Three member team from Veermata Jijabai Technological Institute, Mumbai, provided solution for Mitigation of Public Sector Cyber Cascades. The team proposed an Intrusion Detection System for securing Industrial Infrastructure and protocols using network anomalies and data packet inspection.

  1. Sachin Parekh
  2. Rohit Bhaskar
  3. Tanay Shah


1st Runners Up: Tech Wizards

A team of a student and a teacher from SRDAV Public School, Dayanand Vihar, Delhi. The team built an Android based application with more than 1000 downloads on Google Play Store, to aware people regarding current cyber-attacks and mitigation, connecting people with cyber experts with live chat to resolve queries which helps citizen in understanding and safeguard themselves from cyber-attacks.

  1. Vineeta Garg
  2. Rohit Tuli


2nd Runners Up: DeepSafe

A team of Ph.D. students from IIT Hyderabad working on Monitoring Online Sexual Abuse against Children. They proposed an Artificial Intelligence based solution to monitor and block uploading of child abusive content into/ from the cyber space. Application trained with censored and uncensored images to increase the accuracy and detection of abusive content, can be installed on network gateway to block abusive content.

  1. Dendi Sathya Veera Reddy
  2. KVV Durga Prasad
  3. R Barath


3rd Runners Up: Aggies

A team from College Station, USA proposed algorithm for securing an intelligent transport system. The algorithm helps securing the intelligent transport system during cyber-attack.  The system, which is housed in the cyberphysical systems laboratory at Texas A&M University, has a collision avoidance module built into it.

  1. Bharadwaj Satchidanandan
  2. P R Kumar


4th Runners Up: Blue Monks


A team from University of Engineering & Management (UEM), Kolkata. They proposed a solution for Security of Women Online as cloud based application which can be integrated with any social media, to filter the unsafe content and report any such malicious activity and involved culprit. Solution will be helpful in controlling online social media abusive and inappropriate content especially against women.

  1. Sayak Dhar
  2. Saswata Das
  3. Debanjit Sarkar


Special Award:  Most Innovative Idea towards Startup

This award was presented to team Astra team from France. They proposed a solution for securing web-applications from different types of attacks using Honeypots. Their proposed solution is like a Web Application Firewall (WAF) using Honeypots, to collect different attacks an malicious signature and provide run-time mitigation. Solution also differentiate between bad bots and good bots and is also able to detect malicious bots pretending to good bots like Google bots.

  1. Mr. Ananda Krishna
  2. Mr. Shikhil Sharma


Capture the Flag – Operational Technology

Winners: Bitvijays

They captured most number of flags during the Capture the Flag – OT competition. The team comprises of working professionals with experience of more than 3 years in the field of cyber security.

  1. Mr. Vijay Kumar
  2. Mr. Tanoy Bose
  3. Mr. Vignesh Durairaj


Runners Up: Evesdropper

A team of three undergraduate students, two from Bhartiya Vidyapeeth, Delhi and one from University School of Information, Communication and Technology, Delhi. They gave tough competition to their peers and took on the challenge till the stage of a tie-breaker.

  1. Mr. Swapnil
  2. Mr. Aarush Ahuja
  3. Mr. Punit Maurya


Capture the Flag – Information Technology

Winners: D4rkC0de

A team of a graduate students from IIIT Delhi and working professional.

  1. Mr. Palash Bansal
  2. Mr. Aneesh Dogra


Runners Up: Dcua

A team comprising of a national member from BITS, Pilani and an international member from USA. They lead the scoreboard in the qualifier online rounds and gave tough competition to their competitors.

  1. Mr. Sanat Sharma

2.       Mr. Aaditya Purani

Total Comments - 0

Leave a Reply